Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

With the development of the Internet and the social media, the private lives of celebrities are being scrutinized and talked about by ordinary people all the time. Therefore, it is argued that people can no longer regard the living celebrities as heroes given so much information about their not so honorable private lives. I would agree that this is indeed the case in the field of entertainment, sports and politics. some people may argue that celebrities with lifelong achievements in entertainments and sports may still be regarded as heroes. but with the social media more interested in celebrities in their prime time, the older celebrities would only receive much attention when they pass away.

I agree that it is no longer possible to consider celebrities in the fields of entertainment and sports as heroes because they are often young and rich facing temptations in their private lives. consider the case of Tiger woods, the heroic figure in professional golf. While woods was often regarded as the greatest contemporary golf player and a hero in the field, his reputation was severely undermined after his scandal of extramarital affair. Stories of fallen heroes who were young, talented and well-regarded are commonplace because it was more difficult for them to discipline themselves when they could do anything they like with the money and fame.

it is equally difficult, if not impossible, for people to idolize political leaders these days. president Clinton was widely regarded as a competent leader of the us bringing great economic prosperity to nation plagued by economic aftermath left by president Bush. Yet, he was not a perfect man and made mistakes that gave opportunities to his political

enemies to exploit leading to the infamous scandal of Monica Lewinsky. Even if a majority of Americans are willing to forgive Mr. Clinton’s misconduct, it is nearly impossible to count him among the great us presidents such as Abraham Lincoln and John Kennedy.

some people may challenge my argument by pointing out that older celebrities in these fields may be regarded as heroes considering their lifelong achievements. figures like Robin Williams and Woody Allen, for example, may be considered heroes in the movie industry in the light of their numerous accomplishments throughout their lives. this may indeed be the case. but we need to bear in mind that, in today’s social media as well as traditional media, attention is often given disproportionately to the celebrities in their prime time. people are more interested in news and gossips about Jennifer Lawrence and Ellen Page than the biographies of Mike Douglas or Steve Martin.

given the limited space, I only address this issue with regard to the celebrities in fields of entertainment, sports and politics. but the points I try to make may be applicable to other fields as well: celebrities in their prime time often could neither resist the temptations that arise from their fame and wealth nor avoid the attacks from their enemies; as a result, it is difficult for them to be regarded as heroes; for the older celebrities with lifelong accomplishments, they were often forgotten by the general public until the day they pass away.