Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

Knowledge is power and knowledge is often the result of time and experience. The present is not a bubble within the timeline of existence but instead a continuation of what has occurred the previous day and centuries, even millions of year prior. This continuity makes for a seamless timeline where the present has resulted from the past. It is misguided to state that knowledge from the past can not help people make important decisions today and this can be seen on an individual level as well as societal level when we look at such things as science, history and day to day life.

Science, specifically the field of of medicine and pharmacy directly serves to undermine the sentiment that knowledge of the past does not help people make important decisions today. In the mid 20th century, there was a medicine that was highly prescribed to expecting mothers who were experiencing morning sickness. Unfortunately, this medicine had devastating effects on the offspring where there body parts were often misshapen and parts of the brain were not properly developed. Since then, they discontinued prescribing this medicine of course but the implications is long lasting. Because of this past occurrence, we know today that the chemical make up of this form of medicine has deleterious effects on human. The past is allowing us to make both informed and important decisions about things to strive for as well as things to avoid.

Additionally, when we explore this sentiment within a historical context we can look at the Great Depression. During this time, banks were giving out an unprecedented number of loans that they could not support, a relatively new practice during the time. This lead to an absolute upheaval of the American society at such a vulnerable time in between world wars. Fortunately, America has learned from the mistakes of the 1920s and better systems are in place to protect against a detrimental event like that occurring again. Important financial decisions today are made with the thoughts and knowledge of the possible adverse consequences that have been seen in the past.

Humans are learners and as we go through life we learn from our experiences and most rational individuals are able to make important decisions usually by employing knowledge they gained from their own past. For instance, a person that knows they are not the most financially responsible person based off of the time they defaulted on a car loan. As a result, they use this past experience as grounds to make more financially sensible decisions in the future.

Conversely, there are times where the past can serve to create a limited scope leading to a narrow view when making important decisions. An example of this is in America, people of different races were not able to marry until the mid 20th century. This was supported by a precedent that was developed in the past. However, in this example , the past was used in a way to continue an unjust practice. The past is best when used justly to aid in making important decisions.

In conclusion, the advances that we hold dear to us in society are guided by the past and the past helps to drive change in the present and future. We can look back on the past and see what went right and what went wrong to help find the best course of action when dealing with the problems of today.