Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In devel

Historically, education has been the center of many activist movements and within the United States , seen as a fundamental right and compulsory up until graduating high school. Education is a hot button topic that is frequently the cause of media and government attention. From " No Child Left Behind " to " Race to the Top ", politicians have frequently been faced with the need to develop strong and long lasting policies that bolster the education system. One topic that has come up frequently is the topic of higher education costs. With billions of dollars existing in student loan debt, many policy makers and graduates are looking for ways to ameliorate debt. One possible solution is the government providing students a college and university education free of charge. As is the way of the world, there are very few things that do not come with a cost; whether that be implicit or explicit. While the idea of giving access to free higher education sounds like a beneficial policy to implement, it may have a detrimental impact on both the quality of education as well as the job market that employs graduates.

Firstly, implementing a policy that allows for free education to all students may produce the adverse consequence of college classes being filled with students that are not intrinsically motivated to learn and excel on a post-secondary level. Getting an F in a class is not so bad when it is not your money that went into paying for tuition. Free college may lead to students slacking off more because there is not much of a loss present. Colleges are institutions of higher learning and substantial scholastic output. With an increase of students, it may impede this important role that universities serve in society. Professors will likely be faced with a dilemma where they may have to alter the quality of their instruction and assignments for sake of ensuring that students perform well since bad performance reflects badly on professors.

Additionally, having an education system in place where students receive a free education may have an unintended impact on the job market.Given the 21st century society in which we live where global competition is abundant, companies are looking for the best of the best. Currently having a bachelor's degree within many fields is a leg up over those who have only received their high school diploma. In the event that college education is made free, more people would have degrees and the weeding out of qualified candidates and making informed judgements on who to hire will likely become a more complicated process.

In terms of funding such a venture, while the college education may be free to the students, some one is paying for it. Tax payers will likely have to pay higher taxes for students to be able to attend school for free. This money could be going to other parts of the government budget such as national defense and public infrastructure.

Conversely, the idea of free education is enticing because it will allow students with financial hardship to access important educational resources that they would not normally be able to access and also significantly decrease the amount of student loan debt that graduating students face. However, many merit scholarships are in placed for students that can not financially afford college. In terms of funding such a venture, while the college education may be free to the students, some one is paying for it. Tax payers will likely have to pay higher taxes for students to be able to attend school for free. This money could be going to other parts of the government that some policy makers see as more significant.

In conclusion, while free education may be a policy that seems to promote scholarly pursuits within a nation, it may unintentionally led to a decrease in the quality in the education received as well as the quality of colleges and universities as research institutions.