Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

The author raises a controversial issue of whether teaching history to students is beneficial for them for making future decisions or just futile. Indisputably, the world is more complex now and is becoming more as time passes. Nevertheless, one cannot just deny history or state the historical events which took place useless. These events which occurred in the history signify various mistakes and consequences of the decisions taken at that time although at a much simpler level, they still help in avoiding those same mistakes for future generations. Hence, I generally disagree with the opinion that knowing past won't allow us taking more rational decisions today.

First of all, what is history? It is a set of chronological events which has shaped the current world in which we live. Hence history gives us great insight on why some policies exist in the government or an organization or how some of the policies came into existence. Hence in such scenarios in the case of modifying policies, the reason and purpose of those policies need to determined which can be known from history. In such circumstances our decisions will be affected if we knew the past scenarios and conditions under which the policies were generated so that we don't change the policy in such a way that it might defeat its own purpose.

Also, knowing the past can also avoid us repeating the same mistakes again which were committed in the past by our ancestors which will lead better societal structure. For example, most of the countries have studied seriously the main roots of World War II and several have signed treaties with other countries as well as international organizations such as UN with a mission to avoid such catastrophic events which occurred in the past. Hence history not only helps in avoiding us taking wrong decisions but also helps us in taking some other novel decisions which help us in protecting our future.

On the other hand, some may argue that the world has become more complex because of which the information related to past is not at all useful. The events and decisions which took place in the past has only shaped the world to become a better place which is more complex than the previous one. Hence if any changes are needed to be reflected in the present world one might need to analyze the past for questions such as why such changes weren't adopted in past and why this change has emerged now? Only by answering such questions the decision to implement the change can be made and such answers can only be found from the "past".

In conclusion, History is the most important thing that humans possess now as means to take decisions for future or design new policies for their future generations.