Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

The author’s claim “knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today” and in reason author stated that “The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past”, in my opinion author has overlooked that past had taught many things to humans and world is still same place only technology has evolved, people exhibit same behavior. History have set several milestones that one should know to make world a better place to live. Following are reasons for validating my above opinion.

Firstly, history had great impact in people’s lives. It had taught many politicians the way to maintain peace among people of the nation. It has also taught humans about how to tackle situation and how human actions can lead to disaster. History is not just about wars but through history one can learn about existing culture and traditions. No one can truly determine the value of historic buildings if the person is unaware about its history. For example, if a person visits Taj Mahal, he/she will not able to experience the wonder if he/she is unaware about its history, about how such buildings come into existence. Much like other subject, history is also an important subject. History educates an individual about his/her culture and traditions and helps them in preserving those culture and traditions.

Secondly, History will make a person learn the importance of days that are celebrated by people. Consider example, In India, 26 January is celebrated as republic day, if person is not aware about history related to such important date, he/she will not able to develop respect towards those who have scarified their life for people of India. History will also teach humans the consequences of one’s actions so that one can elude taking such actions. It is truly said that failure is one type of success because it teach person to obviate making such decisions that can lead to failure.

However, Author’s claim holds some credulity. In this technological era, technology had not remain same, instead dealing with technological problem is even become more complex compared to past. Consider an example, If person want to integrate two cross platform languages codes, then past experience will not help much in such case, recent studies will only able to solve such problems. Same way in robotics, people are striving in building robots, thus in such cases past will has nothing to offer. Thus, in such cases, author’s claim about knowing about past cannot help people to make important decisions today seems to be valid

On wrapping up, past holds great importance in determining the consequences of human’s actions and provoke humans to maintain brotherhood but fails in providing any aid towards making decisions related to current technologies.