Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Author claims that no act is done purely for the benefit of others, the reason being all actions are based on self interest even they seem to be done for other people . I completely agree with this statement.

In Today’s fast growing developing word, everyone from educated professionals to businessmen architects ,charity organisations , environmentalist , politicians are busy in filling their own pockets and are not concerned with overall development of the society .

For example : Charity organizations that supports orphanages,old people , or people having blindness or any other critical medical condition are granted lakhs of rupees from government,from private companies and other funding sources , but majority of the funds are distributed among the employees employed in these organizations and very few funds actually reaches to the people who need help and support.

Politicians whose major goal is to help people below the poverty line and increase overall development in the country issues various tax rules and collect large amount of taxes with the people above the poverty line in the name of free education ,health care for poor, country’s overall development .But only few political leaders actually work for the welfare of the society and use people’s money effectively Rest only worry about filling their own treasures.

These example clearly depicts the fact that in today’s world even those people whose major job is to help other people are concerned about their own pockets , their own self interest.