In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today's fast growing developing environment their is rapid advancements and development in all the fields like medical science, engineering, architecture ,arts and humanities across the globe.

Significant contribution is made by students , professionals and researchers across the world in various fields.

Their are specialized 4-year graduate degree programs first teaching the initial concepts to the students clearing their fundamentals and then teaching them the previous achievements in that field.

It is only after then students grab the concepts well and then derive a new methodology or procedure.

I completely agree with the author claim that in any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

For example : In field of medical science , various doctors and researchers across the globe are researching about the cure of various hazardous diseases like cancer etc. The coming generation will study the detailed exiting researches , theories and will get the required motivation from the past achivements and will then come up with a more better cure. Medical science is a vast field and researches are done across various countries by people of different culture places religion .Keeping and updated with this knowledge will lead to better advancements in future.

Similarly is the field of aerospace engineering , various countries are sending their astronauts , satellites outside earth and collecting information of space.Reading of the past work will deepen the knowledge of current students and will strongly influence them to make better contributions in their field.

So in conclusion , to make a significant contribution in any endeavour , one should have its basic fundamentals up to the mark which can be achieved by degree courses in that field. One should read and understand various past research publications , generals and do practical experiments on them .

After gaining the full understanding their is a high possibility of advancement in that field.