Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Because great achievements by a nation’s rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure good life for the majority of that nation’s people, achievements of them are the surest indicator of a great nation. Even though rulers, artists, and scientists represent a relatively smaller segment of overall population, their achievements have mammoth potential to impact virtually every denizen of that nation.

First and foremost, a nation’s rulers shape the plans and policies that are determinant of the general direction the nation is headed towards in terms of development goals, well-being of society, upliftment of its citizens, measures to check penury, etc. Propitious decisions that rulers make can and will ensure a good life for the majority of its people. I’ll exemplify my point with an event from history. During the 1950s, after independence, India was suffering from numerous ills with poverty and hunger being of paramount importance. Then Prime Minister Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru started Green Revolution, bunch of policies and initiatives auspicious to farmers and agriculture in general, to combat hunger, poverty and reduce India’s dependence on other nations for staple crops. That 10 year-long revolution greatly mitigated primal problems and made India self-sufficient in wheat, rice agricultural production necessary to meet it’s large population. And, this is just one example, history is filled with plethora of such great examples.

Secondly, scientists’ achievements have also influenced every citizen's life, one way or other. From advancements in technology making our lives easier and better to medical advancements that have vastly improved the life expectancy of people, the role of scientists in ensuring a good life can’t be disputed. From complete eradication of smallpox, a deathly disease with high mortality rate, to near eradication of polio, a disabling and life-threatening disease affecting nervous system of humans, is very much because of great works done by our medical scientists.

Thirdly, I would also like to say that artists also play a pivotal role in the overall well-being of people. Arts help connect with people in quite a unique way and also inspire appreciation for the society and nature we live in. It is mostly related to emotional and mental well-being of people which is of crucial importance in today’s world of ever-increasing stress and hectic life.

However, I would like to say that a certain prominent fields are left out, namely, teachers and business persons. No one can deny the role of teachers and education in one’s life, be it scientist, an artist or a ruler. Also, business persons help employ a number of people and contribute substantially towards the nation’s economy.

In conclusion, I would like to say that addition of a couple of left-out fields and professions can greatly reinforce the author’s reasoning, and consequently, the claim made.