Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

the claim attempts to find a correlation between an eterogeneous choice of modules being studied with the level of the overall education: the greater the variety of topicw being studied, the finest the education will be. the claim implies that the ‘variety’ of modules mentioned is intended as any subject not strictly related to the field of study, and that would not otherwise be studied. Another assumption made by the statement is that, in any case, the number of out-of-focus modules would still always be less than the amount of modules actully related to the major being studied. Finally, the type of education mentioned here, is intended as the total knowledge passed on to the student. Many believe in fact that, driven by the desire of becoming extremely wealthy and successful, in order to be the best at something one should only study those subjects and topics that are related to what they wish to do, rhater than what also may intrigue them. Yet, being given the change to study out- of- field topics gives not only a stronger and broader education, it also gives a greater range or opportunities when it comes to finding a job, as the student will be more broadly educated.

To show the trength of the claim, consider a student with the ‘A-level’ type of education, in which they are supposed to choose only a handful of subjects to be studied intenseley. Say a student, who at the time he has to chooose is about 16 years old, decides he wants to do medicine, he will pick all science-related modules and study just those intenseley. Now let’s suppose that the same student after reading some books about the greek literature finds out that he does not want to do medicine anymore, they wouldpossibly be in a lot of trouble: not only they would need to now go get educated on and completely different field, they would also have spent three years or so on something that was actually way too in-depth. Had the student been given the choice to choose from a variety of subjects since the beginning, he would not be in so much trouble now, as he could now be able to apply to college without having to take extra time to study for those extra modules. In fact, having received an education on scientific topics only, the student could be a strong candidate to become a doctor, a researcher or and engineer maybe, but would be completely inadequated to word in the humanistic field.It is in fact easier to obtain a an education based more on general knoledge at first: this should be done to enable us to see what we like and at the same time ebcome more broadly educatedt. Then, one should go more into the specific. Starting from the specific and then change is not the best choice one could make, as We can only change fields so many times.

Now take instead the italian education or the American education. Both countries make students take a wide range of subjects. A student in italy could go to a ‘scientific’ type of school but would still need to study philosophy and latin. A student in america can take chemistry and latin at the same time. A student who graduates from high school or college with a backround which focuses on a wide range of fields is certainly more employable than one who has only studied one thing during their education: take engineers, many times they need to use businees models and look at the market to see if their new device could be successful. Of course someone else could do the work for them, but being able to understand what is going on while being explained a process Is far more valauble.

In conclusion, as the evidence reported above, the statement that one should be given more opportunity to study different things from what our main field of study is is a successful tecnique to produce successful and well roounded graduates