Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Most of the companies now a days prefer multitalented dexterous people having knowledge of various subjects. Acquiring knowledge of various academic discipline obviously makes a person skilled, but is it the best way to become truly educated? The above prompt claims that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s major field of study. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the suggestion and argue that students should have set goals to achieve success and in order to do so they should fully devote their time, money and other resources on the corresponding field of study.

“ Jack of all trades, master of none”. Gaining knowledge of various academic disciplines superficially rather than focusing on one makes a person generalist and not a specialist. For instance, Albert Einstein was one of the most remarkable and gifted scientist of the 20th century. His theory of relativity and photoelectric effect, for which he was awarded noble prize in physics, completely changed the way we perceived the known universe. It is hard to believe that that such a brilliant person flunked in most of the subjects like history, English, arts etc., except science and maths. He soon realized his potential and left the school and later mastered physics and mathematics. Other geniuses, like Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg too dropped out of college because other academic subjects were providing hindrance in their major field of study. They focused on the subject they liked and not on the subjects made mandatory by the university. Can we say they are not truly educated? Thousands of students graduate from college but how many of them have what it takes to be a specialist.

Additionally, most of the majors like engineering and medicine require a lot of diligence and are quite difficult in themselves. Lot of credit courses are need to be completed in order to fulfill universities requirement for degree. Now by forcing them to take classes for other academic disciplines might affect their performance on major field of study. Also, the more time you spend on completing the degree the more money is spent. College already charges an extremely large amount and does not take into account the other expenses that students have to pay (such as room and board, food, and books), adding on extra semesters, quarters, or even years because a student have to take general education classes instead of strictly major classes is an unfair system to put a student through.