Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

The author claims the necessity of taking the opinion of the students while deciding upon the courses. I would agree to his claim as student's interest counts much when it comes to how useful the course is going to be.A good course happens to be good only to students who are interested to take the course.Until unless the student got interest in the course what he is attending the course the entire teaching period would be like using a small glass to empty an ocean.

When the course is selected out of student interest, he/she puts his/her 100% into the course this will make higher achievements,the alacrity in them would never die,they would be interactive with the professors.I don't think a student need an assistance to learn a course which he is really interested in.If we build this kind of atmosphere both the students and the professors challenges eachother and puts their heart and soul in the course.A student interested in photography cares more about photography courses rather than his/her academic mathematics courses.

On the other hand,if student is not at all interested to take a particular course and if he/she is forced to take the course, such a course would turn out to be futile.The student faces troubles because he cannot sit in the class,he cannot go out,he cannot learn anything,he cannot enhance what he already learnt.As an example for this is how students studying in IIT's and NIT's in India are getting backlogs in their academics even though they are of high intellects.

The one drawback I would point out against my argument is a student may not be fully aware of outside industry scenarios and he/she might end up choosing a course which has no standards,no value.Such courses wouldn't get him/her single penny.While choosing an interested course is necessary a student should be given entire knowledge of how to choose a good course which has some real value, otherwise the student may end up with lack of oppurtunities to settle down in his career.A course which couldn't get you a living is no good course at all.

The thing is students should be encouraged to take up good courses and the educators should work on raising the standards of courses, with this kind of mutual working we reach greater heights every day.I would say that a course on which ones heart really likes to work on and a course which could get some living should be recommended to students then they would pursue it with extreme incentive.