College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim that students should choose a field depending on the job available has been a subject of debate since the modern universities came into existence. Frankly, this is a complex topic and one can easily provide sound arguments for both the cases. In my opinion, one should choose the courses such that it will be easier to find jobs after graduation for the following two reasons.

Firstly, it is almost impossible to pursue a field without a stable job. We can always take the courses we like but if there no jobs in that field then we can never pursue that field outside the college. For example, let’s assume that I want to be a nuclear physicist and I want to work in a nuclear reactor and we know for a fact that the number of nuclear reactors are declining as countries are opting for more renewable energy resources. Unsurprisingly, I am unable to find a job in a nuclear reactor after my graduation. Now, how can I satiate my desire to do nuclear fission in a controlled chamber? Since there are no jobs available in the market the only place I can do nuclear reactions is in my college laboratory. The sole purpose of pursuing a field of interest is to be able to work in that field outside the college. If we can’t find a job in that field then I don’t see a way to pursue that field sustainably. Well, one can always pursue things at their expense, but one can only go so long without paying the rent

Furthermore, for most people, the sole purpose of higher studies is to bag a high paying job. By the time a person is ready to enroll in the college, he is already an adult. He has to take care of himself and his finances. He has to take financial loans to pay for the college tuition fees, food, and accommodation. If he is not able to find a high paying job after graduation he will be unable to pay his loans. Then, the interest on loans will grow up and he will be unable to make any major decision in his life soon. For example, he might get stuck in a low paying job and can shift to other fields or go for post-graduation because of the financial burden he has accumulated during his undergraduate class. On the other hand, if he has chosen his courses wisely, he will be able his loans on time. Then, he will be free of the financial burden and will be able to pursue other interests, like going for higher studies or developing a hobby.

On the other hand, we can argue that just following the job market is also a wrong approach as it hinders creativity and breakthroughs. For example, before Einstein, the physics as a field was assumed to be saturated and people didn’t expect any breakthroughs. The field was already rife with big personalities like Newton, Tesla, and Edison. Had Einstein focussed on job oriented fields and didn’t follow his passion, the physics would have been very different from as we know it today. So, not listening for trends in a field can sometimes lead to breakthroughs.

The reasons to choose a field of study is very subjective and there are no easy answers. Of course, the safer approach is to follow the market trends to ensure the job after graduation but it also doesn’t hurt to take the road less traveled once in a while.