College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

it is being stated that students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of occupations in that field. however, this statement could be true for some students but not for all.

Admittedly, for some people, the purpose of study is to use the knowledge to find a job and make money in the future. Nowadays, more and more organizations that make career suggestions collecting data from various businesses from different fields and use those data to project how well are those businesses are going to be in the future; more successful a business is, more likely it is going to expand its size and demand more employees. those organizations then publish articles recommending students about which fields to study based on the prediction that they made. Recently, many suggests college students to take statistics and mathematics as majors.

however, no one can precisely predict the availability of jobs in a specific field in the future. who knows what’s going to happen, who can say that there will not be another great depression when those current college students are graduated? Moreover, some students prefer to select something that they truly love as their fields of study. An old saying goes that passion leads to success. when a person is interested in something from the bottom of his heart, he will devote everything into it to make a satisfying work. Futhermore, when somebody is forced to do things they resist doing, it will always lead to a negative result. For example. if a student is so passionate about art but due to the consideration about job availability in the art field, he has no choice but to study chemistry. Everyday he spends time reading articles that he doesn't even understand and struggling with the chemical formulas. is this the ideal study environment that a college suppose to create for students. In my opinion, the answer is definitely a no. college should be a place where everyone can enjoy their daily campus life where they can freely pursue things they like and it should be a place where students can harness their skills that they wish to develop. Thus, the availability of jobs in certain field should not be the only factor that is taken into consideration making choice for field of study.

In conclusion, college is an important period of time of a person’s life. What to study during college is not an easy decision to make. however, even though whether pursing certain field could provide a decent job opportunity should also be evaluated, it should not be the only factor that one concerns about.