College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The choice of selecting subjects for college students should be highly based on their interest rather than choosing the courses which are likely to have more jobs. The prompt recommends that students are not attacking this point and simply choosing a path that are most likely to lead to jobs. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that students look inward rather than outward when choosing college courses for two reasons.

To begin, the job market is shifting from one field to another , one can’t predict “What will happen when?”. In other words, job demand might change from one decade to other. Some area might be very successful right now and by end of the year it may vanish away by some new technology, so one should not focus not trending job courses. Let’s understand by a example, In today’s world computer related courses are getting very high preference over it was in 19th century, due to new inventions and technology’s. One who chooses computer field in 19th century due to his/her interest, though at that time field was not disseminate, might be getting more income than one who pursued college course in trendy job at that time. This illustrates that job market for future is highly not predictable based on present scenario, if one assumes that it is static he/she might get burned at some point in future.

Further if we still assume that job market is not dynamic, that is unchanging as gravity, one should look after his/her interest as key role and put everything aside as “Happiness is key to success”. For a student who is passionate about singing, if he/she pursuing computer engineering course might ruin his/her life. Daily going to work by waking up early, following routine and then going on desk to sit and think about singing whole time would be very terrifying. Simply by looking at singing wallpaper on desktop he/she doesn’t get satisfaction. Though he/she might complete his/her programming task haphazardly their is no such happiness in it. If some situation comes like events and he/she get opportunity to sing he/she would get very tons of happiness. So this tells workers with interest produce not only high amount of work but also would work fast.

However some argue that in this competing world it is better to choose practical paths rather than choosing interest. But this precisely says that choosing liking is better than blinding following trends as it has very high chances to get success. In our interest we can give more than hundred percent efforts which can’t be given to other side. People who ignore their interest leads to peril