College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In today's competitive world it is very difficult to choose whether to follow passion or go for a good paying job. The same goes hand in hand when it comes to college student while selecting their subjects. They are in dilemma, but in my opinion they should be encouraged to choose a subject that suits them rather than courses which will just benefit them in getting a hot job.

First of all, becoming a sheep in a herd will never give you an opportunity to stand out and showcase yourself. Anything done out of peer pressure and lack of interest will lead students nowhere. When there is lack of interest it is reflected in our work and we can never attain higher levels with such attitude. For instance, when a painter is asked to write a book, the content in it or the way of writing would never interest other people. But, on the other hand the painting by the same painter would fascinate and attract evrybody.

Furthermore, there will be saturation in the hot jobs if everyone will just crowd them up. Also, pursuing a subject of one's interest can open up more opportunities. To elaborate, in 1960-1970 nuclear engineering was in demand and everybody just followed the herd. There was a point when jobs were less and people applying for them exceeded. In addition, the competition increased. To avoid this if one pursues subject that interest them they can get more opportunities as they will have less competition.

Last but not the least, mental peace and job satisfaction is the main factor that cannot be neglected. No doubt money can buy a lot of materialistic things but, it can never buy peace of mind. If one follows there interest they will always be happy and would never complain about their work.

Lastly, yes some people might think following passion or subject that interest them would never get them to higher levels and they will have to face a lot of difficulties. But, what is success if not a path full of ups and downs? Hence, in my opinion college students should be encouraged to follow their subject of interest.