College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather

than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which

adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how

these examples shape your position.

It is always an added blessing if your passion turns into a high salary paying job but i strongly agree with the premise that college students should be encouraged to pursue their interests rather than running behind jobs that pay you high. It is true that money is an essential part opf our lives but it cannot buy you everything. There will be struggles ahead but your passion is what will drive you through each one of them.

For a person having a keen interest in a subject enables the individual to put the over the counter effort so as to excel in the field. The effort put in, the time dedicated and the sacrifices made in return all seem to be worth. This also enables the teacher to teach in a more extemporanous fashion and exploring even deeper in the field. For example, we always regard scientists to be mad. Here we always refer the intense zealous they have for the subject that pushes them a step ahead so as to achieve their goal. Marie Curie who had discover the radium was ready to sacrifice even here life so as to achieve her target.

Passion and zeal is another driving force which plays a major role in pursuing a career. Learning course from which you earn might secure you a good cushiony job but the heart might still not satiate just with the money. One might feel empty, less dedicated towards these roles affecting the productivity in these high pay jobs as well. For example, we can consider a person whose heart lies in sports but is forced to study engineering. We cannot expect him to put as much effort as he would have if he were playing his sport.

Further it is important to also consider that some might have no interest in these courses at all and forcing them to study might put intense pressure on them resulting in increased suicides, depression and self doubting issues. There might also be a case that one course might seem pretty relevant in the current scenario but becomes obsolete down the line making it worse to find jobs even in that field. The sheer regret of not pursuing the interest might affect your mental health and your self confidence.

Nevertheless yes, there might be cases where a person might have realised that they might not excel anmd earn much in their subject of interest and hence might take up courses from which they earn better but again this decision must be left on the student. Here he doesnt neccessarily have to give up on the passion but also learns other skills for survival. Having a passionate hobby also helps you as a stressbuster and some alone time to contemplate and introspect.

Therefore I would to conclude with these points stating that passion, interest, fervour are all intangible assets taht play a huge role in our lives which cannot be taken lightly. Yes it is true that one has to earn so as to live a comfortable life but one also has to follow their passion so as to live a happy life. Ultimately the decision must lie on the students if they decide to choose which course they would like to pursue and it is the schools responsibility to guide them and show them the reality of their choices.