College students should be encouraged to pursuit subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs

Interest is vital for the success of any college student to study in any filed, whether their goal of study is to get a job. However, finding a job is not so much important for all students. For those students who have a wealthy family background, I think that proposal will not benefit in their conditions. I think that should students be encouraged to pursuit subjects that interest them rather than those courses that can help them find a job needs to be considered and discussed in different situation.

It is argued that, in order to find a job, student who has a poor family background and heavy economic pressure should choose those majors what can help him/her find a job easily instead of choosing those majors he/she has interests in. Education is often a huge expense especially for those poor families. This situation means that student who doesn’t have a wealthy family background needs to repay his families even give support in money to his/her family as soon as possible. Today’s society is so competitive, it is important for students to grasp a skill to survive. For example, a student who has interest in art had better chooses other majors can help him/her find a job easily. In most situation, if a student wants to make some achievements in art and earn enough money to feed himself, it may need a long time to carry out the precipitation of art and build some prestige in the field. This process would require a great deal of wealth, not to mention his family cannot give him financial support but need his help. The economic base determines the superstructure. Students in this situation should obviously choose their major to find a job.

It is argued that those students who have wealthy family backgrounds should choose their majors according to their interests. Interest to a student is the best teacher can raise him to keep studying in certain filed. For those students who do not worry about how to find jobs and give financial support to their family, choosing a major they have interests in can motivate them to learn as much as possible. If a graduate engages in an occupation he is interested in after graduate, he tends to be full of ambition and enthusiasm, with a favorable occupation morality.

One might disagree with me and argue that "Don't children from poor families have the right to pursue their own interests?". I think they can find a stable job and get out of poverty before they pursue what they like. Learning is a lifelong process, and if one does not have to worry about making a living and has the extra money to support one's interests, it will be helpful to develop one's amateur interests.

In conclusion, as these examples aptly demonstrate, according to different circumstances, students with good family conditions had better choose the major they are interested in, while students with poor family conditions had better choose the major that is easier to find a job first.