Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

If no one had ever questioned, we might still have been under the belief that the earth is flat. challenging the things as they are has led humanity to where we are now. Had no one questioned the leaders, we would still have been under the rulership of king.

The world would have been unaware that a vast universe exists, had everyone accepted that the earth is in the center of the universe and that the sun revolves around the earth. Think of all the satellite communication in existence today. Your home entertainment would not have been in the state it is in now without satellite communication. Remote sensing technologies have enabled us to forecast bad weather and natural calamities, saving millions of lives every year.

However, we must not always keep challenging the accepted wisdom but also use the gained wisdom to further progress in all fields known to humanity. The key is to keep up a healthy balance between gaining wisdom and challenging it.