Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Colleges and university's mission is to provide students advanced knowledge and prepare for their future career. Therefore, to achieve the goal, I think that faculty members should have experience working off campus in a relevant professional environment in order to be qualified to teach their courses.

Faculties who have gained work experience tend to teach their courses better. Since they worked in a professional team, they tend to think problems with logic and structure. When teaching courses, they will implement this way of thinking in the class and teach students to solve problem more efficiently thus improves students skills. Also, when teaching classes they will use a more practical tone to introduce a topic. While physics and mathematics can sometimes be abstract, a faculty with practical experience can give a clearer explanation to students, thus improve their studies.

Moreover, after students graduate, most of them will find jobs out of the academic world. If the university faculties had worked outside campus. They can provide information about different companies culture and guide them to find their dream job. Also, faculties can even recommend their students to the company they worked before. Providing young talented graduates to work for the company. Not only students are able to secure job positions, companies can also get young guns to join them.

However, some faculties whose research topic is highly sophisticated such as fusion technology or biotech cannot find relevant professions in the job market. They stayed in the academic field in their whole life and devote their talent to their research. Therefore requiring those faculties to spend time working off-campus is a waste of their time and it will encumber their research progress. They already have enough experience and skills be qualified to teach in relevant courses and provide students knowledge.

Faculties who have work experience can definitely benefit on the performance in teaching courses and their students. However, there are also faculties who dictated their lives on essential research. Therefore we should encourage them to have work experience but should not require them to do so.