Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Studying at least a semester in a foreign country is an appealing and realistic proposal for university students. Whether it should be enforced as a mandatory curriculum setting is relevant with how students consider such opportunity. Will they exclusively focus on their own study or will they be willing to undertake a cultural ambassador roles of their country?

To start off, if we want to expand both academic and non-academic experience of students, we should encourage student to participate study aboard for certain duration, but it should be taken as a compulsory one. Not all of students are well suited to study aboard. Assimilating to a foreign country requires proficiency of target language. However, acquiring sufficiently adroit skill for certain language to have little difficulties to communicate, both academic and in daily life, is really a long journey. Thus, such exchange program seems infeasible for students lack of target language proficiency. For instance, a Chinese student, who possess fluent English of both oral language and lecture writing skill, might benefit a lot from a learning chance from top university of America. However, if a student from Japanese, who seldom have any learning experience of Chinese, is forced to participate a study chance in China, he/she could feel frustrated even at the very beginning in her life, at lone the following long and complex learning for relevant major course. Thus, we really need to consider students' language level for target country, before giving out such chance.

Furthermore, if we are discussing whether to provide every student with such practical chance, this issue become more complex and requires our thoroughful deliberation. Firstly, it is very expensive to live and study in a foreign country. Even if the government could afford majority of relevant financial cost, it is still infeasible for every student to share such opportunity equally. Secondly, such exchange program is built upon the goal that students from different countries could fulfill better cultural communication role besides their major learning. Such motivation could be only fulfilled if and only if the selected students could sufficiently understand their own culture and convey those in a more friendly and explicit way. Thus, we would better to adapt to a selection method that could guarantee only elites student, who could understand clearly about the most valuable characteristics of their country, with such opportunity. Moreover, besides students' cultural background and understanding, they also need to possess an intense passion to respect and learn various cultures, even to appreciate different cultures from deep heart. Because only having such motivation to fully immerse with the foreign cultures, they are possible to undertake their expected role of cultural ambassador. If such program is enacted for every student indiscriminately, such good will of cultural communication will be jeopardize during the process.

Finally, while the cultural communication could be beneficial for involved countries, not only does this communication result from exchange program, but also it could sprung from the introduction of foreign teachers to students' home country. If we can invite qualified and experienced foreign teachers into the home country, both students with financial quandary for learning aboard and our own teaching faulty could improve their own skills, which exclude extra financial burden from government and school.

In summary, regardless of how students perceive for such opportunity, they should be asked for whether they want to do so, as well as whether they are capable of doing so. When it comes to its cross cultural communication goal, we should always guarantee those who sufficiently embody their own countries could be supplied with this exercise. Furthermore, if new options emerge, which could overshadow the proposed one in term of financial factors, we should better adapt the latter one.