Comparative phytochemical screening of three species of Indigofera linn
(Fabaceae).
The objective of the study was to carry out the phytochemical screening of three
species of Indigofera to develop thin layer chromatographic profile for all the three
species. The genus Indigofera linn with about 750 species is the third largest genus
in the family Fabaceae. The fresh leaves and extract of Indigofera were used for
inflammation, abdominal pain and tumorous infection. Phytochemical screening
was carried out on the methanol, ethyl acetate, chloroform and N- Hexane leaves
extracts which showed the presence of carbohydrate, tannins, flavonoids, phenols,
glycoside, terpenoids and alkaloids with the presence of the phytochemicals
depending on the solvent. Thin Layer Chromatography was carried out using five
different solvent systems producing different number of spots indicating that the
constituents were different depending on the solvent utilized. The Rf values for the
spots were calculated and tests for specific alkaloid extract were conducted
yielding interesting results.