Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Getting high grades in an exam is particularly a common aim for every individual in this generation. Many regard learning as an entity which can be mastered by memorising huge books. However, actual learning does not entirely depend on the marks you obtain. It is mainly the intellect of the person and his capacity to think outside the box. The competition between classmates for getting higher grades is definitely inevitable. Although, this competition can lead to a paucity in the number of young innovative thinkers, who are the future of the country.

Definitely, in every school, the student who scores will be automatically a teacher's pet. However, one fails to realise that getting good grades can be delightful only on a temporary basis. For example, the success of an individual is not measured by the grades scored by him in the past, but his current position in the society and his contribution to it. Also, there are certain schools where they categorise students based on their academic scores, which decide which class they are likely to belong to. This kind of classification would lower the confidence of young students and they become more prone to discouragement and failure which finally result in an indifferent attitude among students.

The students who are just about to finish their under graduation course, finally would realise the importance of true learning. This is the time when all the dream companies where the student wants to get into visit the campus, and getting placed is not just about having the highest grades or being the topper of the class. The companies mainly look for students who are "street smart", which in my opinion, comes by the actual learning process.

Finally, striving hard to get a higher grade than the other friend of yours in the next exam will lead you nowhere. Instead, one should evaluate himself and give the highest priority to the "real" learning process.