Conformity almost always leads to the deadening of the individual creativity and energy..

A conformist is one who is complacent with the established social norms and values and therefore I concede that conformity could impede one’s individual creativity. however, I personally believe that creativity cannot be bounded inside the walls of conformity. Neither does it limit one’s energy in pursuing any goal.

it is true that in some of the cases, people often follow social values in order to maintain harmony in the society and maintain its dignity. it is therefore possible that these people often hide their individual creativity in order to be alike them. however, conformity is not a predicament to the creative minds to explore their uniqueness. these people often pave a new way and give consequence to their creative idea. For instance, in spite of the conformity of the contemporaneous society that no object lighter than air could fly in the sky, Wright brother remains tenacious in their determination and finally succeeded in inventing the first airbus. Had they just remained in accord with the social belief, human dream to fly around the globe would only have been a chimera.

it is true that in some of the cases, conformity hinder one’s imaginative ideas and creations. however, on long run, such creative ideas would remain no longer suppressed once the truth is revealed. For instance, the geocentric conformity regarding the solar system of the contemporaneous Roman Catholic Church Officials suppressed the truth of heliocentric theory for several hundreds of years. however, after the discovery of Galilean telescope and the accumulation of several evidences, Galileo was able to establish Copernicus heliocentric theory of solar system. Similarly, despite the wide held belief of the conformist society regarding the notion of flat earth, Pythagoras was able to reveal the truth of round earth.

Furthermore, in some of the cases, conformity does not impede creativity but serves as a solid foundation for the creativity and imagination. For instance, all people were in accord with the fact that the falling of apple on the ground is due to the gravity of the earth. however, this conformity encouraged newton with the creative ideas regarding the laws of gravitation and the equation of motion. Had newton ignored the falling of apple considering it a mundane phenomenon, several discoveries and inventions would not happened.

In conclusion, I do concede that social conformity is a force and it does do a great deal in impeding one’s individual creativity and imagination. however, I also believe that a power creation created by an imaginative mind is not bounded by the walls of conformity. An imaginative mind is always able to pave a new away to explore its imagination.