Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

A person is called an expert in any particular field if he has devoted a significant amount of time and effort in that particular field. An expert could be a phd scholar or a researcher. An expert could also be a fantastic musician or artist. Critical Judgement in any field is often valued more if it comes from an expert of that particular field.

Since an expert devotes a significant amount of his time in that particular field, he gains a lot of experience. Experience is very important and valuable when it comes to judging a piece of work. For instance, an engineering undergrad who wishes to publish papers can get the guidance of an expert faculty at his college who may have the experience of publishing many research papers and can give one of the most pertinent critical judgement to the student.

When a piece of work is available for judgement, an expert can identify what is right and wrong as well as which areas need further improvement. For example, when a person learning a specific dance type can be trained only by a person who is an expert in that particular dance type. Also, while the student dances, the expert dance trainer can identify many mistakes which a person with no prior knowledge in that particular dance would never be able to identify. The same example may be relevant in music as well especially while learning to play musical instruments. Therefore, an expert can provide the necessary guidance to a novice in a particular field and help him develop the necessary skills with ease and become an expert.

There are some fields in which a little more credence is given to the judgement of masses and the audience rather than the critical judgements of the experts. A common example in this case is that of movies. many times the critical judgements of the movie critics or experts have been proven not very accurate and the movies have gone to become blockbusters despite of receiving poor reviews by experts.Another example is finantial predictions of the stock market in which sometimes the predictions of finantial experts are not very accurate. However, fields specified in the two examples above depend on a lot of factors for their success and in rare cases the unexpected can happen.

In conclusion, an expert can provide the necessary guidance regarding what is correct based on his highly valuable experience and his judgements must always be valued.