The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The view presented in the issue that the maximization of profits by corporations is conflicting with the general welfare of the nation is a contentious one.

Firstly, the stated opinion that the entire nation would be affected is an exaggeration. Corporations' impact is usually limited to the field that they are local to. Even though some corporations are globally known, they can hardly conflict with the welfare of a nation. There are rules and governing bodies that are in place to limit the influence that these corporations might have.

Secondly, many corporations are inclining themselves towards contributing to social causes. Almost all the recognized organizations are mandating schemes for employee welfare. While some might argue that these are tactics to improve their stand in the market, the employees' are ultimately getting benefited.

In conclusion, corporations as such cannot hamper the general welfare of a nation at large.