Group #1: Analysis of Issue

The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

I completely agree with the statement because, in my opinion, the desire of corporations to maximize profits does create conflict with the welfare of the nation at large. I understand huge profits augment the reputation of the corporation and, of course, a huge amount of money is required for efficient functioning of large corporations.But, many corporations' sole purpose is to maximize profits and adhere to maneuvers which create conflict with the welfare of the society and members. We often come across incidents were corporations compromise the health and well being of the workers(the lower rungs) in order to maximize profits. For example, not providing sufficient protection to workers to help minimize the

harmful effects of the hazardous environment they work in, like in the chemical factories or

cracker factories just because they do not want to invest money and want to maximize

profits. Consequently, this deteriorates the health (physical and mental) of the workers, and if

health is compromised their profits will definitely deteriorate.

Some corporations, in order to maximize profits, are willing to adhere to illegal or illicit maneuvers and thus this raises a question on the authenticity and integrity of the organization as well as their members'. I believe it is more important to focus on how you make money and not on how much you make! Such illicit maneuvers are responsible for

violating citizens' right to information, right to the knowledge of truth and thus compromises

the welfare of the society.

I believe, not all ways of maximizing profits create conflicts with the welfare of the nation, as the authentic ones do not violate any law, do not deprive the citizens of their basic need and amenities, but others which compromise or violate laws do create conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.