The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The claim states that the desire of corporations to maximize profits conflicts the interests of the

nation at large. I fundamentally agree with this statement.Corporations may increase profits by

implementing various methods. The simplest way to increase profits is by increasing the price of

commodities or services. This leads to citizens paying out more on a less deserved commodity.As a

result, citizens are unable to buy or use all the services they require resulting in a fall in the

standard of living in the country.

Secondly,profits can also be increased by using low cost raw materials for manufacturing the

goods or using selling low quality services. This results in an inconsistent product which does not

satisfy the requirement of the citizens. Also,the possibility of low quality products getting damaged

faster than normal rate is high and this will result in the citizen shelling out more currency on the

product earlier than its expected lifetime. A medicinal tablet made of low quality or unrefined

chemicals may do more harm than good to the patient.

The cost of a product also includes the cost of disposal of its waste and hazardous byproducts

produced during its manufacturing process. Corporations may try to increase their profit by

compromising on these waste disposal techniques. This will lead to serious environmental

problems in future.Many factories situated along the Ganges in India have dumped their wastes

into the river causing serious environmental issues in the area.

It is very evident that the desire of corporations to maximize profits lead to multiple issues such as

lowering the standard of living of the citizens,environmental issues,health problems etc. Thus, it

conflicts the general welfare of the nation at large.