"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

In order to survive corporations need money, but this doesn't mean that it can be a detriment to the society in which it operates to maximize its profits. A corporation can aim to make largest profits but it must be sure that it doesn't cause any kind of harm to the society in which it functions.

However, when a corporation desires to maximize its profits it will try all the ways to do so, hence the general welfare of nation would definitely be at risk. It is definitely difficult for a corporation to maximize its profits by also simultaneously developing the nation as it has to sacrifice many factors with respect to the welfare of the nation to make a humongous amount of profit.

On the contrary if the corporations work for the well-being of the society it is actually beneficial for them in many ways. One of these is making the workplace environment comfortable for the workers so as to extract a good amount of work from the workers which would in turn definitely increase their profits. One more way is that if the corporation is beneficial even to people living around in any ways they would also be as a moral support and hence would in turn help the corporations to gain more profits. Another way is to offer more offers for employment which would encourage the unemployed to join the organisation, hence would also increase in workforce and would in turn help in maximizing the profits.

Hence, a corporation should always work for the well-being of the nation instead of aiming for increasing in profits as the well-being of nation would in turn help in the well-being of the corporation, and would also result in a good amount of profit.

Therefore, I would accept with the above given statement that "The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflicts with the general welfare of the nation at large".