Differentiate between Commercial livestock rearing and Factory farming (100-200 words)

(i) Commercial livestock rearing is a traditional practice diverted from the Nomadic pastoralism whereas Factory farming is a modern practice initially started on capitalist intentions.

(ii) Commercial livestock rearing originated in Spain in around 1000 CE and slowly became popular in Europe, it had a cowboy tradition associated to it. Factory farming was started after industrial revolution when factory system became popular in USA around early 19th century.

(iii) In Commercial livestock rearing, the animals are kept in ranches which are generally large whereas animals were kept or rather stored in confined places like cage or small pens in the case of Factory farming.

(iv) Commercial livestock rearing is a specialised activity where only one type of animal is reared on a large scale. In factory farming, multiple animals particularly poultry and cattle are reared.

(v) Rearing of Horse is associated with Commercial livestock rearing however it is not with Factory farming.

(vi) The aim of both the practises is profit however, the extent is different. The factory farming is highly profit orientated, even at the extent to do animal exploitation whereas animal welfare is considered more or less in the case of Commercial livestock rearing.

(vii) Factory farming is a global practice which is done in most countries. However, there are specific locations like New Zealand, Australia, Argentina, Uruguay & USA in the case of Commercial livestock rearing.