Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

'The ones who are standing against you today as of their immaturity shall tomorrow turn into your biggest supporters as of your persuasion.'- Umair (Self written)

Society is dynamic in nature, it criticises, doubts at a moment and accepts at the next. It all depends on how you persuade and to whom you persuade. There is an immensely popular saying by the stalwart of philosophy, Aristotle:

'One argument is enough to convince a thousand wise men but even thousands of arguments can never convince a fool.'

This statement (though exaggerated and subjective) but, acts as a mirror to the society that has always shown rejection to new ideas. Our Society is unfortunately constituted by a number of people diverse in cultures, religion and language. However, the majority of these people have one thing in common - 'Inability of doing Rational Thinking' or in other words are 'fools' as of Aristotle, those who are unable to look beyond their faith. Our history has been a witness of a number of events and characters but most of them have been forgotten. The ones who still reside in the hearts of the people are those who brought revolution.

We know about many revolutionaries, their contribution, the reforms they brought into the society but, only a few know about the struggles they had to encounter. Every revolution originates from an idea, an idea that often attempts to challenge or break the conservative regime prevailing from years or decades if not from centuries. It is obvious that promulgating something that intends to collapse the system shall be subjected to extreme doubts and criticism. Conservatives have always opposed any reform and what made them strong is that they have generally outnumbered the revolutionaries posing a great threat to them. Revolutionaries have presented many arguments but conservatives, blinded by their faiths, have denied them and those whose minds were intellectual accepted the reality.

Many philosophers or thinkers think of revolutionary ideas but resist to promulgate them due to the fear of doubts and criticism. They are less known among people and their legacies remain unsung. One among such people is Sir Nicolaus Copernicus who asserted that centre is the center of universe and the earth revolved around the son which was an anti-thesis of biblical theory assuming earth as the centre of universe. He prepared this theory but, chose to remain silent, afraid of the actions of Orthodox Christians. However, after his death, some of his disciples decided to popularise his idea and that is how we know about him. But, we don't know how many such ideas would have died along with the death of the ones who thought them.

The ones who are popular are those who see their ideas by their own vision, those who decide to propagate their ideas, unafraid of the doubts and criticism that is inevitable. They create ideas, their ideas create followers, their followers create history and the history sings their legacy. There are many such thinkers. However, I am going to describe several thinkers whose stories shaped my positive position on this subject:

(i) Juana de'la Cruez: She was an intellectual woman who encouraged the idea of feminism through writing - a profession that was not 'meant for women' in the eighteenth century. She served as courtier in the Spanish Mexico despite facing criticism from other nobles. She encouraged women to demand and if needed, fight for their rights. Her writings also criticised the governance of the state which ultimately lead to her sentence of death. She died but her idea of feminism and her legacy remains untouched. Her footprints can be seen in Spanish literature till date.

(ii) Karl Marx: He was a social thinker who is also known as the top gun of Sociology. He gave popular theories like Historical Materialism and Class Conflict. Marx was also a critique of Capitalism. He urged the proletariats to develop class consciousness and escape the matrix of capitalism and poverty. His ideas was widely criticised by the industrialists or Bourgeoisie and was doubted by the proletariats who were expected to do it. However, his dedication popularised his idea of Communism, which still is a system of economy is many countries symbolising his legacy.

(iii) Sir Syed Ahmad Khan: He was an official of British government who later became a social reformer. He initiated the Aligarh movement and established Aligarh Muslim University. He asserted to combine the teaching of Western Sciences and traditional Islamic Studies which was criticised by radical Islamists. He also popularised 'Itijihad' - a right of inquiry of sacred texts. The Aligarh Muslim University still remains as one of the best universities of not just India but complete Asia rejoicing his legacy. This can be seen in his books including the commentary on Quran.

As we can see from the stories of these three legends and how they proclaimed their legacy. We have also seen that the people who were afraid to popularise their ideas are forgotten. Drawing conclusion from these points, I highly agree that those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts and criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy. If you want to be leave a legacy, you need to see your idea through your own ideas regardless of what the society thinks. , Remember, 'Legends are not born, they are created.'