Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree Be

I am completely against the statement provided. If we have learned anything over centuries of violent human history involving wars, is that discussing a subject is the best way to solve the problem.

When two people from opposing extremes sit together and talk about a controvertial topic it is not a pretty scene. It might get loud and ugly but this is a very necessary part of the process of reaching a conclusion. It is during this phase that both the parties involved put forward their points of view. Now because of the extrimity involved it is very likely that most of these point won't make it to the other side as intended but a few points will definietly do and these are the few points that matter. These few points actually help bridge the gap between the extremes. Over a period of time the number of such points grow and leads to moderation among the adversaries.

Consider a counter example. What happens when people with contrasting views are kept apart. Social media manages the content that we see and the people we interact with through out the day. It is known fact that these social media algorithms show us only the posts and views that we want to see. A conservative will only see posts praising the conservative views and disparaging the libertanians. This leads to forming social pockets with minimal overlap. These groups of people are completely removed from the others view point and this often result in hate mongering and clashes among these groups.

Similarly when these opposing parties sit together and discuss a matter, like in a house of parliment it brings out the overlap. Overtime this overlap grops leading to moderation and hence a conclusion. This is a gradual process and might not happen in a day eventually a conclusion will be reached.