Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society s problems

I completely disagree with the statement. It is known that science and technology does make our lives easier, we have come from hunting for food to trading millions of dollars worth of goods sitting at our desks. However as we solve one problem we create another one.

Consider cars for example. It was difficult to travel long distances in the absence of powered vehicles. We solved this problem using steam engines to move a motorised vehicle. However in solving this problem we created another - accidents. Road accidents were non existent before the invention of cars, today millions of people are killed in road accidents around the world.

Another example can be the invention of Facebook. It sure has changed the way we humans interact with out friends and maintain our relationships however it has introduced its own problem of data privacy issues and screen addiction. The same can be said about most of the technology in use today.

The given statement that technology can solve all of society's problems contradicts itself. Assume that we do invent some technology that can solve all our problems, the technology itself will become our problem. Humans strive for happiness and a lot of us achieve this happiness in meaningful work. If all our problems are solved for us we will have no meaningful work left for us to do hence creating a problem.

I believe science and technology helps us to grow and this growth will never stop. Taking an example of the movie Terminator, even if we invent an artificial machine intended to solve all our socital problems there is a possibility that we might need to fight the same robots to preserve our society.