Do we learn most from the people whose views we share?

We usually like or follow people whose views we share or with whom we can relate our thinking on certain topics. But in terms of generating knowledge or learning new things, does the view of following a person who shares common ground with us help? Or can we actually learn the most from people who have contradicted views? Though, I concede that disagreement and discord can lead to the impediment to learning, reasoned debate over a topic can enhance knowledge and advance humanity.

Admittedly, intense debate or discord over a topic in certain circumstances can be counterproductive and inhibit learning. Take, the political talk shows on television, as examples. In the talk shows, representatives of competing parties vie with each other to manifest their superiority over one another, but they have little interest to hear the views of the opposition. Usually these debates result in nothing but portraying rhetorical bouts and shouting matching. The end results in an impediment to learning.

Disagreement can also inhibit learning when there is a fundamental difference in basic assumptions needed for meaningful debate. For instance, a student of Banking might not get any benefit from a debate with a person whose religious view precludes the existing banking system. Similarly, a liberalist can hardly enhance his/her knowledge of the free market from a debate with a communist, who believes in a centrally planned economy.

Aside from these, I maintain that reasonable debate over contending matters is not a hindrance to learning rather it emphasizes and advances knowledge. Therefore, I firmly believe that disagreement with other enhance our knowledge and advance humanity at the personal, community and global level.

Firstly, at a personal level, apparently oppressive behaviour of parents might acknowledge the children about the unwanted consequences of situations. For example, a child may want to play video games for hours at a time and preventing it by his/her parents might hurt him/her. But, this will make the child acknowledge the bad impacts of long time gaming. Conversely, by listening to the children, parents might know that autonomy and good parenting are discrete things. Secondly, at a community level, a debate between an environmentalist and an industrialist may convince the former about the importance of industry and how the lives of a large number of people depend on it. Similarly, the latter will come to know about the price we need to pay for the degradation of the environment and atmosphere. Finally, at a global level, two nations with opposing views over politics and economy can lead to a mutually beneficial agreement by striving to understand other’s rationale, legitimate concerns of sovereignty, national security, the value of currency etc.

To sum up, when there is a lack of common ground, mutual respect and fundamental belief, I concede that differing views can inhibit learning. Otherwise, discourse and disagreement lead to a better understanding of a matter.