Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Through learning, people of the past had established what we see today and similarly, the present generation is making or shaping the world for the future. However, learning is not something that should always attribute to educational institution like school or college. Thus I mostly agree with the prompt for three reasons.

First of all, learning precedes institutions like school or college, meaning there was always an inclination for learning among the people even when there was no established institution to provide education. For example, at the beginning of the human lives, people learned how to survive, they gathered knowledge about self-protection and made the way of living in this world, all of which denotes learning. However, at that time, there were no such institutions that could provide them with certain types of abilities or knowledge in order for their survival. It was individual’s own choice which provoked them to learn for their own benefit. And who wishes not to learn, eventually lost in time. Therefore, no educational institutions were needed to motivate them to learn. Hence, it proves that schools or colleges cannot motivate to learn, rather the necessity of learning made those institutions.

Secondly, over the course of time, people have developed themselves to the stage when they thought that a definitive structure is also needed to enhance the process of learning, and only because of this reason educational institutions were created. So, they were made not to motivate someone to learn but to ensure proper and more sophisticated knowledge for them who were already agreed to learn meaning that the function of educational institutions is not to encourage someone to learn but to show the way of learning and provide essential equipment for learning.

Finally, if the institutions could motivate students to learn, then there were no incidents of dropouts in the schools or colleges. But, in reality we have a myriad number of incidents of dropouts throughout the world in terms of dropout. It is evident that parents get their children admitted into educational institutions but when the students lost motivation for learning, they fail to accomplish their task and eventually drop out from the institutions. However, a student who has the thirst for learning, even if he fails in exams, try harder to complete his course. And it is his self-made motivation for acquiring knowledge that helps him to become industrious, not the institutions.

To sum up, even though sometimes the environment of the institutions encourage students to acquire knowledge, school or college alone is not enough to provide enough motivation for learning.