Educational institutions have an obligation to dissuade students from pursuing fields they are unlikely to succeed in.

Educational institutions have a number of obligations towards their students. Among these responsibilities are: ensuring students are safe, happy and healthy, providing for the robust exchange of ideas, and building skills translatable to the 21st century workplace. Educational institutions -- whether two-year community colleges, four-year private liberal arts colleges, four-year public universities, or graduate schools -- do not have an incumbent responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed for two major reasons.

Ushering students to pursue fields where they are likely to succeed is problematic in a number of ways. For one, if we are to narrowly define "success" as financial success that provides an assumption the student is in it for the money. Numerous studies have shown people who pick fields for monetary compensation lack happiness with their occupation and job satisfaction. This, in turn, leads to unhappy employees and diminished output for the employer. Success can take on many meanings. For example, it could mean personal or social success. As such, just because a person is in a successful professional field, doesn't mean they are a good friend, husband, wife, and partner.

Two, just because a student is perceived as unlikely to succeed in a field because of their rudimentary skills, doesn't mean they won't find success in said field later in their career. Take for example a student with a strong foundation in the humanities and social sciences, who attends a liberal arts college and abstained from pursuing science classes, and now would like to become a urologist. The common perception is that student is unlikely to succeed. Not so fast. That student could, with the proper post-bac year, professional advising, medical school, and residency, could easily undergo the requisite training to find success in that field. Guiding this student away from their perceived weaknesses is antithetical to one of the points of formal education in general, that is, becoming comfortable with uncomfortability.

Alas, educational institutions that dissuade students pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed does benefit the feedback alumni give to that institution. However, good career guidance is just one of many ways alumni should be evaluating their respective institutions. Dissuading a student from pursuing a field where they are unlikely to succeed puts a hard cap on that students growth and could potentially funnel them to an industry they find unfulfilling.