An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author of the passage makes an argument for the adoption, advertisement and promotion of a new millet to combat a vitamin A deficiency in Tagus. They use a few assumptions to put forth this argument by assuring people will readily consume this product, and that the farmers will gladly produce the new millet because of subsidies. While this logic may seem reasonable, the author makes a few unwarranted assumptions, in particular, three questions need to be answered.

First, are we sure the people of Tagus will readily adopt this new version of millet? The taste, texture, consistency, and ability to use it in different dishes could vary from the original millet. This may lead to the poor sale or rejected use of the new millet. Further, they may even reject the new strain so much they go back to the original millet which is antithetical to this initiative in the first place.

Second, has this millet been run through proper scientific experimentation and a trial period? No mention is given to if this government has taken the necessary steps to run this through proper vetting. Rushing any type of health product -- whether it be a drug, vaccine, medical device -- to market without proper experimentation and documentation on a small group of people can have devastating and far-reaching effects.

Lastly, are we sure the farmers willing to be on board with growing this new millet? Despite getting subsidies to offset the expensive seeds, farmers may not have reserve capital, labor or infrastructure to grow other crops. By focusing so much on the vitamin A deficiency with this new millet, it may keep farmers from growing traditional and beneficial crops. As such, you might have another deficiency on your hands if the farmers abstain from growing healthy foods like grains, citrus, vegetables and legumes. That puts all parties -- the farmers, the NGO and the government -- back at square one. I assume this is not the type of whack-a-mole game that these people want to play.

This argument could be made substantially stronger if the aforementioned NGO and a similar government in a similar region and climate partnered together to alleviate or eradicate a vitamin B, B12 or C deficiency. A study on the effectiveness, and the conclusions that can be drawn from it, would greatly boost the viability of this task at hand. Unfortunately, no such example exists and leaves the reader wary of its success. To reiterate, the author makes several unwarranted assumptions that could actually produce harmful effects for the people of Tagus.