Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement cites here, educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. It is important for a student's success in future if they pursue the right field of study instead of wasting time on studying unrelated subjects which may not lead him towards success and in this case education institutions should always guide them and advise which fields they should not pursue for their better future.

In educational institutions, various students enrol each year in various fields, so the educational institutions have a better observation of the success and failure of the students and the reason behind that. For example, if a student wants to get admission in Computer Science as he likes computer but has a poor score in Mathematics, most likely he would not make much success in that field. But as he likes computer he may argue that despite having poor marks in Mathematics he will be successful if he studies hard. But the educational institutions are dealing which such students for years and they are well informed which student should pursue which field based on their background. So they should not allow the students to take the field where they can not succeed.

Furthermore, one may argue that if any students take any particular field and study diligently he will become successful. But if such case was true then there would not be specific criteria to take admission in each field of study. Those criteria are meant to lead a student to the path of success based on their background. For instance, if a student gets admission in medical field despite having a better exposer and contribution in other fields than that, after completing his study may not be as successful as he would get in other field and may regrate for pursuing that. Hence, if the institution suggested him not to pursue medical such situation would not occur.

In conclusion, as the students have very less experience and understanding of the various educational fields but the educational institutes have broad view and experience of handling such cases, so the educational institutes should take responsibility to dissuade them from pursuing fields where they may not succeed.