Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Education plays a significant role in well being of a person. Generally speaking, I believe that its better for all concerned if educational institutions support the student's choice of field of study instead of making decisions on student's behalf. I feel this way for several reasons which I explore in below essay.

First of institutions should not interfere with the students decision in selecting their field of study. There are various factors like student's interest, way of teaching, level of understanding, materials he is referring to study etc which play crucial role in success of student and schools can not judge if he is going to succeed in a particular field without considering all these factors. Because, only student will know what his true passion is and what is difficulties are. So, institutions making student's decision without being fully aware of above contributing factors is not fair.

In addition to possibility of incorrect judgement its important to consider adverse effects of restricting a student from selecting a course. Preventing a student from taking particular course means he has to opt some other subject. Certainly, it could be possible that he may not be interested in it. Of course, some kids face dilemma while chosing their majors in college or elective subjects. In such cases they can definetly take tutor's help in overcoming confusion. However, forcing a person to take up subject that he is not interested in will make the learning cumbersome. He might eventually lose his interest in studies and he might waste precious years of his life while forcing himself to do something he is not interested in.

Finally, restricting the students from taking up a courses which has more probability of failure does not necessarily mean he will will succeed. In majority of cases during the initial days of school, kid is not aware of his favorite field of studey. While he grows up, as he gradually unleash more about a particular field, his proclivity towards that field will increase. My own personal experience is a compelling example for this. During my primary school, I hated mathematics. I didn't understand the lecture clearly and I couldn't understand topics on my own. As a result I always got less marks in maths. But, things started to change when I was enrolled to different school.My new teacher was very good and I started to understand it better. Later math became one of my favorite subjects. Had I not given the opportunity to study math based on the fact that I used to score less, I wouldn't have been an engineer who absolutely loves her profession.

In summary, based on the arguments explained above, I am of the openion that in most cases it's actually more benificial if students are given flexibility to chose their filed of study instead of judging them.