Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Since the last economic crisis that whipped the capitalist system and made the profits of lots of sectors, such as construction, drop dramatically, the difficulty of finding a job has risen sharply, as lots of workstations were destroyed in order to guarantee the survivability of companies. This, in my opinion, is the main reason that has lent educational institutions to advise their students not to study some degrees. However, I am convinced that the number of work possibilities in which you can get involved by becoming an expert in a specific field of study should not define what you study, and, as a consequence from this, I completely disagree with the statement.

To support this, it is clear that no one has a crystal ball that shows the future when it is rubbed, like in many fantastic movies and novels about magicians. To predict what jobs will be needed in the future is impossible, as the development in technology is rushing changes in society. For example, there are many measures that are being taken to accelerate the disappearance of internal combustion engines in propulsion applications, mainly in cars. This can lead to the lack of need for this kind of engines’ designers. However, ten years ago it was implausible that an alternate mean of propulsion would overcome its use, and engineers specialized in those motors were highly demanded. From this example, it can be inferred that educational institutions might not be correctly advising their students when they tell them not to get involved in some fields of study.

However, it is undeniable that there are many fields of study in which people find it really hard to work on something related to it. To exemplify this, the rate of unemployment in people who have studied philology is nearly thrice that of biology, and more than ten times the one of engineering. This is mainly because of the economic system in which we live in, namely capitalism, which only gives value to jobs that create loads of economic benefit, without considering the impact on society that jobs related to culture have. In this sense, it is clear that, unless a change in the way of thinking in the population takes place, it is easier to earn a living studying something related to a field of study that produces a lot of economic benefits, so the advice given by educational institutions is justified.

In conclusion, although it is irrefutable that there are fields of study which lend people more job opportunities, I think that this reason is not enough for educational institutions to dissuade students from studying what they want, as it is possible that the field they are selecting is really demanded in the future, and brings society a cultural heritage that is not valuable in economic terms, but rather in social terms.