Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One of the goals of education should be allowing people to think critically and freely. However, everyone may be able to remember that, when he/she was a child, creativity was more developed and used in his/her daily life than it is now. As well as this, sometimes propaganda and the trend to excessively focus education in well-performing in a job lends to a lack of self-consciousness and an avoidance of further-thinking in many cases. Personally, I believe that an education based on critical thinking and the development of creative skills help people to develop their thoughts more freely. Therefore, although I do not agree with the statement, I acknowledge that there are some specific conditions and situations in which it may hold true.

Regarding the first argument introduced in the prior paragraph, it is true that children seem to be more creative than adults. From my point of view, this ability to imagine non-existent concepts or gadgets emerges from a dearth of experience and knowledge. This leads to the fact that most of the technologies that appear in the imagination of people in their childhood are not realistic, neither plausible to attain. However, when more knowledge is on the mind of educated people, they are able to discern if the ideas they have had are realistic, or if they are unattainable with the existing technology, and even with further development of it. This leads to a more rational creativity, always attached to a pragmatic point of view of reality, but not inferior to that characteristic of our fledgling times. In this sense, the argument is undermined when the possibility of a “rational creativity”, based on facts, experience and knowledge, appears in the scene.

As well as this, emphasizing on the counterparts established in the first paragraph, history has proved that, in many occasions, education has been covered in a blanket of propaganda. The quintessence of this can be found in the Nazi authoritarian regime. Goebbels, one of the most renowned propagandists in history, did not allow publications written by Jewish people to be published in the newspapers, narrowing the range of opinions presented in the mass media. As well as this, education was harshly controlled, in order to make people think in a way that would favour the regime. This kind of “education”, which in my opinion is misattributed, can only drive to a narrow-minded and orthodox way of thinking. Hence, this leads to an unquestionable restraining of people’s minds.

Nevertheless, a particular case of bad-focused education should not be used to develop a generalization, as this would lead to a fallacy. Most of nowadays education systems tend to teach critical thinking. Therefore, people are given wings to let their ideas fly freely, instead of cutting them by restraining their spirits. In Spain, for example, the subject of Philosophy teaches adolescents about many political and philosophical currents, and leads to the knowledge of different thoughts that can be used to develop a better understanding of reality. Subjects like this are the best example for proving that education helps the evolution of free minds.

Notwithstanding the praise to current education written in the last paragraph, it should also be mentioned that, in many times, teaching is more concerned of preparing people for their future jobs rather than helping the development of their lateral thinking. The pragmatic point of view that most subjects, such as maths or physics, tend to have in high schools, serves as an example for this. To exemplify this, in physics subjects it is usual that lots of different fields of knowledge (for example, relativity theory, electromagnetism and quantum physics) are tried to be taught in a tangential manner. The huge amount of time dedicated to them leads to a misunderstanding of the scientific method, in order to present more theories that are its direct result. This leads to a bunch of students who know superficially a lot of information about results, but who are not capable of developing themselves plausible hypotheses or valid experiments. Because of this prevalence of memorization over creativity, people are not able to develop this ability in an adequate way.

In conclusion, I am convinced that a well-established education, in which propaganda and excessive pragmatism do not have a fixed place, leads to an increase of knowledge that can act in a favourable way to attain a more rational creativity.