Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

First of all, one of the assumptions unstated in the statement is that there are no other shops that could be harsh competitors for the franchise. It is highly probable that other entrepreneur, seeking for high economic benefits, had detected and took advantage of the opportunity to open a health-food store in that city, predicting a huge income. If there were competitors in the same city, it is probable that the expected profitability is much higher than the real one, because of people tending to go more to shops that were already there.

Secondly, it is also assumed that sales of sports equipment are related to a healthy way of living in the city. However, it is possible that the sports shops located there were extremely cheap, and everyone from nearby cities and villages went there to buy sports equipment, but not food. This would mean that, actually, Plainsville would not be an adequate place to locate the new franchise, as its inhabitants would not necessarily be healthy, but the ones from surrounding cities.

Thirdly, emphasizing on the argument presented in the last paragraph, it is also assumed that the local health club is primarily used by people from Plainsville. To exemplify this, if there were no gyms nearby, it is plausible that people from other cities went to that health club, but bought food in their own city. If this was proved true, it would mean that the existence and success of that business in Plainsville would not imply a high amount of health food sold in the franchise.

Finally, it is also assumed that, because children are more sportive there than in other places, their parents will buy healthier food. As children are not usually responsible of the food habits in their houses, and their parents may not practise exercise, it is highly probable that, although they do sports, they do not eat healthily. This assumption, therefore, would need to be proved in order to establish if children are, now, potential consumers.