Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In this world there are so many aspects against us. Some students have hardships at home, some might not even have a home, and some might not have family or friends for support, thus the students might look to the school and the patrons of the school to help them in their endeavors. Dissuading students to follow their specific pursuits of study is wrongful. How are we able to measure someone’s capacity to learn? Also, how would this affect how someone felt about themselves emotionally and mentally? Furthermore, wouldn’t this have a negative effect on our economy.

In this country we take multiple exams throughout our life. We study until we don’t think we can understand anymore and we take tests that determine our future. Now, there is no way to fully grasp how much a person knows through a test. What if someone doesn’t do well on test but is amazing during a presentation. What if a person knows the subject but can’t help but second guess themselves because they get so nervous during test taking. You could argue that if a person truly knows a subject then they shouldn’t have to second guess, but with the way tests are made now, I attest. For instance, professors now are utilizing multiple choice questions that include three answers that could be correct and barely tweaking each one, which makes it highly difficult to stand strong on an answer. Also, people with anxiety will start to self erupt in a way while taking the test. I have had multiple tests where I start shaking, fidgeting, throwing my hands to my face, and looking like I belong in an insane asylum. Fortunately, I was able to fix this problem throughout time, but if I was told to not even try to get a degree in biology, then I may not have. I honestly never thought I would get a degree in biology because I didn’t study my first semester and paid the price. When I decided to go back to get my degree in biology, I persevered and am now trying to further my education, even though I truly gave up at one point.

Negativity can hinder someone’s life in too many ways and telling someone “no” just makes it that much harder. In other countries, like Iran, students take an exam that tells them what college they have to go into after high school. One of my cousins told me that she was distraught when her scores weren’t good enough because they sent her to a technology school. She had no interest in this profession and the school was 2 hours away from her home. She recently came to America and wants to study to be a stenographer, but she would not have been able to do this in her own country. I know that these are harsher conditions than explained above, but it already feels like a push in that direction.

Not only would this be detrimental to people’s health, but it would alter the economic growth. What if a group of students who were pre-med decided to go a different route, then these students would not be spending a hundred thousand and more dollars on school and there might be a deficit on how well the programs could run at that point. Maybe at that point, the people who do get into medical school would have to pay millions and be even more in debt for that profession. Not to mention, if told they couldn’t then what if we end up having less and less medical professionals, astronauts, or scientist. One might argue that it could aid our future by selecting who is good at what profession at an earlier stage of life and save the person money or time, but sometimes as a person we must go through these experiences to become better than the rest. There are so many scientist’s that didn’t have formal education.

Furthermore, dissuading students to follow their coveted path of study would be reprimanding their ability to learn and possibly shrinking someone’s genius. Not to mention, how this could affect the human psyche and what someone would do instead as a result. If we don’t look at this on the individual level, then maybe consider the level of economy and how not as many investments would be made.