to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The statement wrongfully linking valuable aspects of a society to the study of its major cities is a new age way of thinking. Although it is understandable to acknowledge that major cities include a lot of insight to the economy, social, and political viewpoints, we must halt and ask ourselves how these cities came to flourish. Rural cities may speak for a smaller population, but a population nevertheless that provides a backbone of tradition and culture that arose before these cities were able to flourish.

Major cities are very diverse and rich in culture but can lack the understanding of entire state or country. For instance, Frederick, Maryland is not a major city but has several landmarks and battlefield viewings from the Civil War. Even while strolling along the streets, there are stones by stop lights that state what exactly happened in that area and who won what battle. In Oklahoma, some people believe that the locals ride horses to and from their destinations. This generalization can’t come from the areas popular cities because only the more rural areas use horses or have enough land to house the equine. In order to experience the full farming and agricultural experience, you would have to go to the more rural areas, like Jones and even the panhandle.

Not only do major cities lack the cultural aspect of a state or country, they also can misrepresent the political viewpoints. In Oklahoma, you would vastly understand that the farmers are not always being heard judicially because they are not only far, maybe 2 or more hours out, from the city, but they are also few in numbers. Even in France, where most vineyard owners and cheese farmers make up most of the economic value, we may not understand their frustrations unless going to them and experiences their hardships.

In contrast to the statement, we can also diverge that major cities and rural cities can lack the understanding of an entire community altogether. In Iran, the entire country is being watched by the government. What I mean by this is that the government is in high surveillance and monitors and filters everything on the Web. In the major and rural cities of Iran there could be a disliking to the government, the Islāmic religion, and more, but we would not be able to identify these enlightened people due to them being watched. I will say that in rural areas it is possible to get away with these ideas of free thinking because they are not likely connected to the internet and so distant that the government may not reach them as well as the population in the city.

Major cities will always give the highlight real, so to speak, of the country or state. The real economic, social, and political standpoints won’t be represented as fairly unless adding the experiences background of the rural areas.