Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Today's children are tomorrow's citizens. Educational institutions mould the future of society by nurturing children. In this modern society, we have various fields of study that one might find it difficult to know which field they want to pursue. Educational institutions can offer help by exposing students to different areas of study. But the final decision of pursuing which career must be left to the student himself/herself.

The brain of a child is not completely developed yet. So, schools should not decide he/she doesn't have a talent towards math or arts. Later the skills may bloom and a student who once a failure in math might become an engineer. Schools should be helping students develop in their weak areas. They should not tell students that they have no talent in this area so they shouldn't pursue it. Schools are not taking any responsibility for their students' futures, so they don't have any right to decide their students' careers.

There are some cases where schools/teachers alluded their students not to take a career or censured that they are good for nothing, but time revealed it's not the case. For example, Thomas Alva Edison was told that he was not fit for schooling. Albert Einstein was rejected many times in entrance test for his university. Of course, these are some celebrities whose life stories are known to all. We may also know some neighbours or relatives who pursued the subjects they were weak once.

The point is that one can't decide a student's career or dissuade them from following some paths when they're still young. Educational institutions must not do that. One may oppose it by saying that young ones don't know what to follow, so it is the job of the adults to pave the path for them. It is good that adults are taking their time to nurture children. But they must not close some roads based on their prejudice. For example, it is prevalent in South India that parents give only two options for their children: engineering or medicine. They dissuade children from following other paths. This scenario must be changed.

All in all, educational institutions should bot dissuade students from following specific careers. They should inform the pros and cons and should leave the decision to students.