To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Society does not only consists of cities but also villages. The state of living in village communities can be very different from that of cities. Thus, in order to understand important characteristics of a society, one must study life in both cases.

For example, in some countries (or kingdoms) where the capital and a few cities are developed while other parts are not, studying just the glorious and happy life of cities is not a complete study, and it will give wrong impressions for those who analyse it.

In the past, travellers like Hiuen-Tsang who visited other kingdoms to study about those societies just visited the capital and took accommodation in royal palaces. Staying in the palace and observing the capital city, where basic requirements are ensured, will not give the correct view of society. There may be many people in the village side who doesn't even have a basic house or regular availability of food.

But to assess the progress a society made in fields of education, health care and technology, one can find the best answers by observing cities. Since progress in those fields mainly happen there. But one must also look at how much of that progress is distributed and made available to other parts of country.

So, finally, I think that though it is necessary to study the major cities of a society to understand it, the study must not end there. One must consider the dark and poorer side of society to get a complete picture.