Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions unlike the old times play a very important role in overall development of a students life.It is certainly involved in taking many crucial decision that a student takes during his educational days which in-turn shapes his future. If you look around today there are so many high rated institutions with significantly varied number of fields to choose from. With so many options in hand the teen and the youth today are confused. Everything seems great and interesting plus the decision on which many student select their field of study sometimes depends on factors pertaining to the amount of salary they would earn,the quality of job and sometimes due to peer pressure where everyone of their friends are opting for a particular field instead of the actual liking and complexity involved in the field. Such confused students end up devastated and may lose confidence if they are later not able to cope up with it. Educational institutions at such point can prove really helpful. They know the skill-set and knowledge of their students and hence should help them in giving a reality check. This step will not only save the mental trauma and depression the students might go through in the later stage but also will help them explore a completely different field which they are could be good at.

On the contrary, although the situation and example given in the above paragraph are correct, the issue might not hold true in all cases. We have read numerous real life stories of Einstein,Bill Gates and many more where the Educational institutions and their staff were evidently wrong about the ability of these great scholars.Dissuading a student from a particular field is also discouraging him prior to even trying something. We as a society usually mistake success and interest. Someone might not find a subject or a field of study interesting and still be good at it. However,this doesn't mean he will succeed. Success is guaranteed if your passion becomes your profession. No one is initially good at anything but if the students have the will to opt for a field that they love despite the struggle the institution should not discourage them. Instead educate them about the field they want to opt and help them analyse the pros and cons but ultimately leave the decision entirely on the student.

As mentioned before, with so many fields to opt there are high chances where a student may not excel in the overall field but could most certainly master a particular part or subject of the field. Someone might not be great in Computer Science over all but could be a really good web developer.

Overall Educational Institutions are meant to encourage and enlighten a students life by providing them and walking them through the vivid varieties of choices and impose their thought directly. Educational Institutions can also help students get internships or projects in the field they want to opt. This will help them have a clear thought process once they have had an hands on experience in the same instead of directly dissuading from or suggesting a particular field of study.