Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Most of the times, students often chase the wrong goose due to the peer pressure and expectations from the society. So educational institutions should take the moral responsibility to dissuade students in the fields of study where they cannot succeed.

In this age where education is primary skill to survive, it is important to identify the students skills and guide them in that direction. More than parents and peers, educational institutions are more qualified for this job since they evaluate the performance of the student frequently, monitoring the progress so can judge the road ahead for him/her. Students can rethink their options and act on them quickly. In return for which, student will be saving exorbitant amount of fees and most essential currency of this age - time. A highbrow student aiming to be a singer will be disheartened when the American idol panel scoff at his performance. Instead, if the musical institute has been diligent and rejected him during the trails, he/she may have become a good financer.

On the other hand, school will benefit by being fecund in sharpening the talented minds who has a knack for it. By taking more responsibility they are saving themselves, preventing the calumnies of suicides occurring in their campuses.

However, this is based on the assumption that the evaluator is perspicacious in these matters and is not swayed by the venality. Also, rejecting it outright can hurt the pride and hurt the reputation, so schools can provide concrete steps on what to try and what not to, supporting the students further. Parents should be convinced with a solid arguments on his/her offspring doesnt lack the skill for olympic swimmer simply because of the glaringly obvious reasons and pursuing it further will only lead to more harm than fetching the gold medals.