To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Studying major cities exemplifies the way the society is currently functioning, thereby determining its characteristics will help in understanding the society better.

Cities are the great example of how a society is shaped. Populous cities like Beijing, Mumbai, New york is filled with plethora of ethnicities. Everyday many people ensconced themselves for better facilities of health, education and work opportunities. Understanding these broader group of people not help in characterizing the city but also helps us understand a wide variety of perspectives. Moreover, major cities offer a wide and extreme spectrum of characteristics of the society: Mumbai, known for both financial extremities of the people, offering a different set of religion ethnicities, ranging from extreme corruption to honesty. Whereas, moderate cities like Pune has much less to offer thereby providing a biased view on the consensus

However, too much data might also lead to a problem of outliers which if not considered properly will affect the way characteristics are derived.

In conclusion, Major cities are rich source for diversified data before providing a better analysis and giving characteristics of a society in general.