Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

educational institutes should not have a stake in commenting on the field of study for a student. The issue states that educational institutes must have an opinion on the decision of chosing the field of study, by analysing a student's chances of success in any given field. Though it may sound apt in the world where there are infinite permutations of subjects that can shape a student's career, and choosing from those can be optimized by educational institutes by looking at the academic history of a student, but it has its down side.

The only paramenter of judgement for an institute to recommend a field of study is past academic history of an individual. this is a skewed approach. Not all the times a student might give best in an exam, and thus the true talent can never be accessed by means of a few exams. The student might not have prepared oriented to the test patterns. many a times, student might have studied for ther love of the subject and scored low, yet having a deeper understanding of the subject. there are various examples that back the claim. einstein was not good a mathematics as a kid, but he grew up to be one of the smartest brains in physics, which would could not have been foreseen, and schools of the time wqould no9t have agreed to einstein to dwelve into physics and mathematics.

many a times, a student might choose a field of study as he/she truly enjoys the field of study. In such a scenario, a decision by the institute may discourage a student. A wrong field of study will in turn jeopardise the chances of success. Society today encourages the youth to follow the dreams and do what they love to, and this stands against the popular belief. when a student decides to chose a field of study, by his own will, it is a signal that he/she accepts the risk associated with it, and thus would work even hard to achieve success. many of the successful entrepreneurs today have been dropouts, this does not mean they gave up studying. they gave up degrees, and instead studied what they wanted to and would require to succeed in their chosen field. Steve Jobs is an epitome of success who chose to give up a college degree, yet studies all that he was passionate about.

Clearly, a student selecting a field of study at his/her own will, will catapult the chances of success. it can never be an absolute probability of success in either of the scenarios mentioned in the issue. With a lot of student data, it might be, in today's world, possible to predict a student's success in a given field, thanks to the development in analytics. A student's history, coupled with the experience developed by the educational institutes, can predict success fairly accurately, yet, a satisfactory education for a student will be when the the desision is humbly assisted by the educational institutes, and the final call still rests with the student.