Violence in movies has become a reality of our everyday lives. The effects of such violent images on children can only lead to a more violent society.

Some people maintain that movies depicting violence do not heavily influence children's future actions. children are able to think for themselves and comprehend that real violence differs from the images they are exposed to in movies. while there is no doubt that violence is not a new phenomenon and predates movies, there is reason to believe that children are easily influenced by depictions of violence and cannot differentiate them clearly as real or fictional, and that therefore violence in movies has serious negative effects on young viewers.

One argument that supports the idea that violence in movies does not severely influence children is that violence is a permanent feature of human life. In other words, movies are just a modern medium for representing a persistent reality. today, movies show violent images, but in the past, violence was ubiquitous. For example, in the Middle Ages, from the eleventh to the fifteenth centuries, it was normal to witness public hangings on a daily basis. During the Inquisition, people were publicly executed for their beliefs, and there was no censorship; children watched, too. this did not mean children who saw this would be more prone to violence. brutality simply seemed to be a part of everyday life. Thus, past realities were even worse than what is seen in the movies today.

However true it may be that violence has historically been a part of daily life, today, with the development of modern media, such events are represented in plastic detail, enhanced by artifice, circulated widely, replayed numerous times, and embedded in our consciousness. while we do not know the full workings of human consciousness, we can look to research that has examined the link between media violence and the behavior of children. A number of studies have demonstrated that watching depictions of violence encourages aggression, desensitization, and pessimism in children. even as far back as the 1960s and 1970s, research into social learning and the tendency of children to imitate what they see actually proliferated and was widely accepted to the point that in the 1980s the US Mental Health Institute accepted such findings and recommended that more efforts be made to buttress this relatively recent development.

Moreover, the presentation of violence minus its effects reduces its seriousness. In essence, violence is mainly depicted in a playful way; movies do not tend to show the real results of violence, so the connection between violence and its effects disappears. For instance, popular movies about comic-book heroes, such as those put out by the widely known Marvel franchise, show the heroes “saving the day” with an enormous amount of brutality. we do not see the effects of that violence; a falling building does not land on anyone, and the building is empty of workers even at midday. therefore, impressionable children see violence as a “game.”

As can be seen from the above, although it is true that children have always been exposed to violence, and violence is indeed a part of human history and life, it is important to focus on whether certain media increase the amount of violence in society. children are the prime victims, as such media confuses their sense of reality. If we do not begin to control what children watch and ignore this issue, we may end up with a more violent society, one in which people view violence as commonplace instead of as horrific and disturbing.